The people of Lachlan Shire are served by ten dedicated people as Councillors. These Councillors meet on the fourth Wednesday of each month to discuss the ordinary business of the Council, as well as meeting as required to discuss the more integral parts of Council business through committees.


Councillors are elected once every four years.  Currently the Shire is divided into wards with two representatives being elected from each ward. The Mayor is elected bi-annually and the Deputy Mayor is elected annually by the Councillors at the September Ordinary Meeting of Council.